Favorites in Florence

I feel like you are constantly hearing people talk about how great Italy is, and don’t get me wrong, Italy is a beautiful country.  Its filled with history and culture, that is one of the things I love most about it.  However, there are things about Italy that I don’t necessarily love but thats not why I’m writing today.  I want to tell you everything I do love about Italy.  Florence, Italy to be more specific.  

Florence is what I imagined when I pictured Italy.  Cobblestone walkways, massive cathedrals, spectacular views, and wine that will keep you coming back for more.  I really enjoyed my stay in Florence and found it to be my top city in Italy.  Although not as big as Rome or Milan, Florence still has major historical awesomeness to check out!

IMG_2281.JPG

1. You have to go say hello to my boyfriend…his name is David! 😉

The Galleria Dell Accademia is one of the most famous galleries in Italy.  Providing countless original pieces from legendary artist including the devilishly good looking statue of David.  The gallery ranges its art from statues, paintings and drawings, to even musical instruments.  Expect to spend at least a couple hours in there because there is a lot to look at. 


2. Basilica of Saint Mary of the Flower

IMG_2041.JPGLike I said earlier massive cathedrals here.  This is one cathedral you will not want to miss nor could you.  The Italians spent years building this masterpiece.  140 years to be exact.  The construction started in 1296 and ended in 1436.  Most men spent their lives building this cathedral and never even got to see the finished product.  So I think its only right to show our respect and go visit this incredibly detailed sanctuary. IMG_2057.JPG

Oh, and P.S when I was there we got to see Pope Francis! And yes, yes it was awesome and I’m bragging a little but you never know who’ll see.


3. Piazza Della SignoriaIMG_2071.JPG

Italy has piazzas everywhere throughout their cities.  They are usually nice places to hang out and eat a quick bit but you may want to account a little extra time here.  Piazza Della Signoria is in the downtown area of Florence and a main meeting ground for many locals and tourist.  Housing over 10 major statues such as

  • A copy of Michelangelo’s, David.
  • Fountain of Neptune by Bartolomeo Ammannati (1575)
  • Hercules and Cacus, by Bandinelli (1533)
  • The Rape of the Sabine Women, in the Loggia dei Lanzi by Giambologna
  • Perseus with the Head of Medusa, in the Loggia dei Lanzi by Cellini (1554)

And so many more.  You will not want to pass up this free opportunity to see some amazing art. IMG_2084.JPGIMG_2082.JPG


4.  Piazzale Michelangelo

IMG_2137.JPG

For your final stop of the day, head up the hill for sunset at the Piazzale Michelangelo.  It’s somewhat of a hike up there but I promise you wont regret it.  When you reach the top, you can see everything in Florence.  The views up there are truly incredible.  Go in the evenings to enjoy the live music and beer that is usually there.  This is a great place to get the full view of the city and allow you to soak in the day.  IMG_2155.JPG

Leave a Reply

