Swimming in the French Rivera

France is a gorgeous country with variety of landscapes and adventures.  The French Rivera is one of the most beautiful areas in France that we explored while in Europe.  Cinque Terre specifically is where I am talking about.  This is a day trip you will not want to miss out on.  Cinque Terre is a string of a hundred year old seaside villages on the primitive Italian Riviera coastline.   It is made up of 5 little towns filled with, colorful houses and vineyards that cling to steep hill sides. The Sentiero Azzurro cliffside hike leads you through every village, while you hike the sea side cliffs. IMG_2221.JPG

During our trip to Cinque Terre the Sentiero Azzurro trail was blocked and no longer allowing hikers for the season.  So we made our way to the adorable town of Manarola where we got into some adventures. IMG_2224.JPG

The houses are stacked on top of each other ranging from every color and the walkways are front porches.  However, this tiny and I mean TINY little Italian town made you feel like a mouse in a mace when you’re walking the alleys.  There is only one road that goes through all 5 towns and it basically a one way street, so drive with caution.  Only one road leads into the town and its only purpose is for the boats. IMG_22401.jpg

We made our way down to the harbor where there was sparkling turquoise water.  People stood above and took pictures but I felt I wanted a closer look.  We walked down to the shore line and stood at the edge of the crystal clear water. 


FullSizeRender 9.jpgWe sat there for quite some time just admiring the purity and simplicity of where we were, until I felt the need to really get into the culture. 


FullSizeRender 8.jpg

I looked at the water for a moment and began to strip.  Keep in mind it was late November so it was pretty cold, so I striped to my bra and yoga pants and jumped in! The initial shock of the water paralyzed my body.  My sister was yelling at me if I was alright and of course I was over joyed I did it, but could simply just nod my head.  Once I got accustomed to the water I urged my sister to join me, and she did. 


FullSizeRender 73.jpg

We swam for a while as the people above took pictures and cheered us on.  Our bodies could take no more of the ice water so we left and climbed the hill for a better view. 


FullSizeRender 63.jpg

Swimming in the French Rivera was not even on my bucket list but once I was able to do it, I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t on there before.  I would truly encourage anyone to take the time for a day trip to Cinque Terre and go get in some adventures yourself!

Leave a Reply

