Basílica i Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família

You may or may not be a religious person but either way you must go to Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, Spain. 


FullSizeRenhder 6.jpgWhen you’re traveling abroad you seem to go to a lot of cathedrals, basilicas, and really any other religious temples.  Its kinda just one of those things you do.  When I was traveling I saw so many breathtaking religious temples but none quite compared to the last one I saw.  I had heard great things about Sagrada Familia but was not expecting what I saw.  This is no ordinary basilica.  This is no ordinary building at all.  This is art.  This is beauty.  This is truly breathtaking. 


FullSizeRender 9.jpgThe construction of this basilica started in 1882.  Construction stopped however, in 1926 when the architect Gaudí devoted his last years to the project, but died at the age of 73.  The basilica less than a quarter complete.  The project was worked on intermediately throughout the years but did not reach its midpoint until 2010.  The basilica is still under construction today with keeping Gaudi’s original plans in mind.  They hope to have it completed by the year 2026.


IMG_2497.JPGNow to the fun part! Lets talk about how stinking pretty this place is! They call it the church of light. Gaudí believed in the more of light and how it cures the soul.  Most cathedrals and churches I have gone to are dark and almost dreary but this was full of light and hope. 


FullSizeRdender 6.jpgI sat for what seemed hours just admiring the architecture and stain glassed windows.  Every where I looked there was something new and  different.  The amount of detail that is craved into every square inch of the cement and brick is incredible. Gaudí had an image of a happy and unique place to worship and that is exactly what was created.


FullSizeRender 7.jpgI feel as you get older or at least I can speak for myself here, I have started to question my religion.  I know there is higher power and I know I am a good person but I don’t really know who I owe that to.  Did God make me a good person, was it my parents, or was it the universe? I really have a ton of questions but when I entered Sagrada Familia it felt like all those questions didn’t matter because I was good and thats what mattered.  I feel this church isn’t so much of a church, it is more a getaway to your happiness and forgiveness and prayer. 


IMG_2523.JPGNo matter what your belief system, is you should make this a top priority if you’re in Spain.  You will leave feeling more at peace and have a better understanding of what religion and church should look like than ever.  Because personally I think however you pray or worship should be a happy event and should be full of life and light.  Seriously don’t miss out of this, I promise you will thank me for it later!


FullSizeRender 8.jpgOh and I will be returning in the 2026 for its final grand opening! A church that took 144 YEARS to be built deserves a proper grand opening.

Leave a Reply

